Free resources pt. 1

·

3 min read

Hello! Today, I want to share a few resources that have really helped me out up to this point.

Firstly, W3 Schools has some amazing tutorials. Their HTML and CSS references are incredibly helpful when you need to look something small up (for example, if you forget always forget that one HTML tag like me), but those references also make up a completely free, in depth course. If you do plan on using it as a learning resource, I would suggest practicing the concepts it introduces on your own. It does have some exercises built in, but taking a few minutes to write your own code will help solidify it in your memory.

Secondly, Adobe XD is one of my current favorite apps. It's free (unless you want to unlock some features that don't really affect functionality if you're just starting out) and really powerful. My favorite feature is auto-animate. The software will find a path between two screens you draw and then animate the transition between them. Although XD doesn't export any code, it's great for designing pages fairly quickly, which for a non artist like me is a lifesaver. I'll also add in coolors.co in this section because it fits with the design theme. This web app randomly generates color schemes, which, again, is great if you have trouble with the more aesthetic part of web development.

I hope you found these quick tips helpful! All of the links to the resources I mentioned are down below. I am not affiliated with any of these companies, and all opinions are my own.

https://www.w3schools.com/default.asp https://www.adobe.com/products/xd.html?promoid=PYPVQ3HN&mv=other https://coolors.co/

-Alexis