Introduction

·

2 min read

Hello! My name is Alexis, and I am a 16 year old transgender programmer. I have always been interested in programming and have been doing it off and on for several years. A few months ago, though, I started to consistently work on programming. I took up Python and branched out to several other languages including Java, JavaScript, HTML, and CSS. I am currently enrolled in a computer science course, but most of what I have learned and am learning is self taught using the internet as a resource.

Here are some goals I set for my blog (in no particular order):

  1. I want to inspire members of the LGBTQI+ community and other minorities to get into programming.
  2. I want to share my learning experience to hopefully encourage others.
  3. I want to be honest about the struggles I face and not just show a final product without also showing the failures it took to get there.
  4. I want to use this blog to keep myself accountable for learning.
  5. I do not want to overwork myself just to make content, which means I might take short breaks occasionally.
  6. I want to share resources that I find particularly helpful as a beginner/intermediate programmer.

Obviously I can't sum up this entire blog in 6 bullet points, but I think that those are the main ideas. I can't wait to start sharing my progress!

-Alexis